Gay dating in Mumbai after change of law

Last summer, the Indian High Court decriminalised homosexuality. For me, and my friends, this was the first step towards acceptance for gay, lesbian and transgender persons across India. An incredible day for millions of gays. So, has anything changed since?

Gay dating in India still is a high risk activity because mentalities have not changed as fast as the law. In practice, gays still avoid being seen in public spaces – I have never seen men holding hands or kissing in public.

Gay dating online is still very much the name of the game, with dating websites such as Gaydia.com, Gaydar and others where gays meet and chat. Gay clubs and bars underground also draw large crowds, especially on Friday and Saturday nights. However, I can only talk from my own experience of gay dating in Mumbai! If you would like to share your own experience, please leave a comment below.

Oh, I was about to forget an important point. The decriminalization of homosexuality has made it harder for the police to blackmail gays arrested in public spaces. Blackmailing still happens, but is less frequent from what my gay friends tell me.

Now all we need is more time for minds to change!

Leave a comment